RWTH Aachen

AixSense is an interdisciplinary and international team from RWTH Aachen University, Germany, with members having a background in Electrical Engineering,  Nanotechnology, Biomedical Engineering, and Materials Science.

Our common vision is to develop a biosensor that suits the needs of patients and professionals, potentially being an inspiration to industry and research alike. In this course we aim to develop, based on our interdisciplinary knowledge, an original creative concept, making use of novel materials as well as established analytical methods. Furthermore, we focus on carefully scrutinizing our sensor in terms of reliability, durability, and fabrication complexity.

The SensUs competition allows us to gain valuable experience in project management, practical work, and communication. We are eager to learn the necessary skills that are needed to work in a team efficiently and to properly communicate our achievements to the stakeholders. As such, the project offers us a context in which we are not only able to develop a technical device, but also develop our professional skills.


Vivek Pachauri

Dr. Vivek Pachauri studied Chemistry and Biological Sciences (2000-2005) in Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University Agra, India, and received his doctorate at the Department of Nanoscale Science at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research (MPI-FKF) Stuttgart. Dr. Pachauri now works at the Institute of Materials in Electrical Engineering 1 (IWE1), RWTH Aachen University, as group-leader of the Nanomaterials and Bio-Nano Interfaces Group.

Sven Ingebrandt

Prof. Sven Ingebrandt received the Diplom in Physics in 1998 from Johannes-Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany. In 2001 he received his doctorate at the Max-Planck-Institute for Polymer Research in Mainz, Germany. Prof. Ingebrandt now is director of the Institute of Materials in Electrical Engineering 1 (IWE1), RWTH Aachen University, where he works on NEMs and MEMs design and fabrication for biological, bioelectronics, environmental and industry 4.0 sensing applications.


Vivek Pachauri
Sven Ingebrandt

Team members
Hendrik Kupper
Luca Fehlings
Jonas Steiner
Shilpa Suresh

Partners of AixSense


AMO Gmbh