The Netherlands

Eindhoven University of Technology

SensUs Digital


Welcome to our page! We are the TU/e sensing team (T.E.S.T.) representing the Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e) in the 2021 SensUs competition. This is a yearly international student competition on engineering rapid biosensors. Our multidisciplinary team consists of nine TU/e students, including first-, second-and third-year Bachelor Medical Science and Technology and Biomedical Technology students, and first-year master
Biomedical Engineering students. We all come from different backgrounds, with our own interests and goals, and we will make sure to be a synergistic team ready to compete and contribute to an improvement of people’s quality of life. This competition allows us to put our theoretical knowledge to the test and apply it to real-life societal problems, engineering an efficient, affordable, and easy-to-use biosensor with translational potential for the commercial market.

On the 3rd of September 2021, our team competes with others to detect the acute respiratory virus influenza A. Influenza viruses are known to mutate quickly, contributing to pandemic-type situations in society sooner rather than later. As we have seen in the current pandemic, rapid testing of patients is crucial to contain the spread of viruses. Therefore, we are excited to be part of the innovations in biosensors helping to prepare for future pandemics!



Leo van IJzendoorn
Leo van IJzendoorn is an Associated Professor in Particle Based Biosensing at TU/e. He investigates methods for point-of-care detection and for continuous monitoring of biomarkers with a focus on using magnetic as well as non-magnetic particles.

Rafiq Lubken
My name is Rafiq Lubken and I am a PhD student working in the field of continuous biomolecular monitoring. In my project, I am specifically focusing on applying single-molecule information to enhance the development and performance of biomolecular monitoring assays, and exploiting this single-molecule information for new potentials in future biomolecular monitoring techniques.

Anouk Beaten
Christopher Reenis
Melissa Pherai
Cathelijne Radstaake
Sanne ten Damme
Maurits Overmans
Funmilayo Olugbega
Pötgens Giulia
Justyna Piotrowska

T.E.S.T. Teampicture